Website Resources

Teen Mental Health

Cyberbullying

Underage Drinking Resource

51A Mandated Reporting (Handling Child Abuse & Neglect)

Middlesex Children’s Advocacy Center: http://middlesexcac.org/51A-reporter-training/

Mandated Reporter Guide: http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dcf/can-mandated-reporters-guide.pdf

Massachusetts Department of Children and Families: http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/dcf/

Massachusetts Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children: http://www.mspcc.org/

Crimes Against Children Research Center: http://www.unh.edu/ccrc/

National Center for Missing and Exploited Children: http://www.missingkids.com/home

National Children’s Advocacy Center: http://www.nationalcac.org/

National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect: http://www.nationalcac.org/

Prevent Child Abuse America: http://www.preventchildabuse.org/

Recognizing, Preventing, and Reporting Child Abuse: http://www.helpguide.org/articles/abuse/child-abuse-and-neglect.htm

[Close] [Close All]

Attendance & Truancy

Massachusetts Trial Court, Child Requiring Assistance (CRA) Handbook: http://www.mass.gov/courts/docs/courts-and-judges/courts/juvenile-court/child-requiring-assistance-parent-handout.pdf

15 Effective Strategies for Improving Student Attendance and Truancy Prevention: http://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED485683.pdf

American Youth Policy Forum: http://www.aypf.org/programareas/dropout-prevention-and-recovery/

Dropout Prevention: http://ies.ed.gov/ncee/wwc/Topic.aspx?sid=3

National Center for School Engagement: http://schoolengagement.org/

National Dropout Prevention Center/Network: http://dropoutprevention.org/

Truancy Prevention: http://www.ojjdp.gov/mpg/litreviews/Truancy_Prevention.pdf

[Close] [Close All]

Bullying & Cyberbullying

MA Department of Elementary & Secondary Education Bullying Prevention & Intervention Resources: http://www.doe.mass.edu/bullying/

Ad Council: http://www.adcouncil.org/Our-Campaigns/Safety/Bullying-Prevention

Be Smart. Be Well.: http://www.besmartbewell.com/bullying/

Bystander Revolution: http://www.bystanderrevolution.org/

CDC 2015 Fact Sheet: http://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/pdf/bullying_factsheet.pdf

Children’s Safety Network: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org/injury-topics/bullying-prevention

DoSomething.org: https://www.dosomething.org/facts/11-facts-about-cyber-bullying

I Know Better… Do You?: http://inobtr.org/

Girls Guide to End Bullying: http://girlsguidetoendbullying.org/index.html

Pacer Center’s Teens Against Bullying: http://www.pacerteensagainstbullying.org/tab/

Stopbullying.gov: http://www.stopbullying.gov/

Stop Cyberbullying: http://www.stopcyberbullying.org/index2.html

The Bully Project: http://www.thebullyproject.com/

[Close] [Close All]

Distracted & Impaired Driving

Diversity & Inclusion

OUT MetroWest: http://outmetrowest.org/

The Annie E. Casey Foundation: http://www.aecf.org/work/community-change/

The Anti-Defamation League: http://www.adl.org/

The Arc: http://www.thearc.org/page.aspx?pid=2530

Facing History and Ourselves:  https://www.facinghistory.org/

Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network: http://www.glsen.org/

United Teen Equality Center: https://www.utec-lowell.org/

[Close] [Close All]

Drugs & Alcohol

AdCare Hospital: http://www.adcare.com/

New Beginnings: http://www.nbprograms.com/

Phoenix House: http://www.phoenixhouse.org/locations/massachusetts/

Stop Addiction: http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/dph/stop-addiction/

The 84 Movement: http://the84.org/

Children’s Safety Network: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org/injury-topics/underage-drinking-illicit-drug-abuse

The Cool Spot (alcohol and peer pressure): http://www.thecoolspot.gov/default.aspx

Drug-Free World Online Education: http://education.drugfreeworld.org/ipad-features.html

Just Think Twice: http://www.justthinktwice.com/ 

National Institute on Drug Abuse: http://www.drugabuse.gov/

NIDA for Teens: http://teens.drugabuse.gov/

Partnerships for Drug-Free Kids: http://medicineabuseproject.org/

Preventing Tobacco Use Among Youth and Young Adults: A Report of the Surgeon General, 2012: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/reports/preventing-youth-tobacco-use/index.html

Public Health Addiction Resources: http://www.publichealth.org/resources/addiction/

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: http://www.samhsa.gov/underage-drinking-topic

The Truth: http://www.thetruth.com/

[Close] [Close All]

Family & Dating Relationships

BPHC Breaking-Up is Hard to do- Ten Tips for Supporting your Teen: http://www.bphc.org/whatwedo/violence-prevention/start-strong/Documents/BPHC-Breakup%20summit_Adult%20Breakup%20Tool-r3.pdf

Massachusetts Department of Elementary & Secondary Education Updated Guidance for Schools and Districts on Addressing Teen Dating Violence (2013): http://www.doe.mass.edu/ssce/teen_dating.pdf

Massachusetts Domestic Violence Programs: http://www.mass.gov/eopss/crime-prev-personal-sfty/personal-sfty/sexual-and-dom-viol/resources/domestic-violence-programs.html

REACH Beyond Domestic Violence: www.reachma.org

Ad Council: http://www.adcouncil.org/Our-Campaigns/Safety/Dating-Abuse-Prevention

American Bar Association Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence: http://www.americanbar.org/groups/domestic_violence.html

Break the Cycle: http://www.breakthecycle.org

Children’s Safety Network: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org/injury-topics/familyintimate-partner-violence

Emerge, batterers intervention program: http://www.emergedv.com/

GLBTQ Domestic Violence Project: http://www.glbtqdvp.org/

Jane Doe Inc.: http://www.janedoe.org/

Love is Respect: http://www.loveisrespect.org/

Men Can Stop Rape: http://www.mencanstoprape.org/

National Criminal Justice Reference System: https://www.ncjrs.gov/teendatingviolence/

Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN): https://rainn.org/

RESPOND: http://www.respondinc.org/

Start Strong / Futures Without Violence: http://startstrong.futureswithoutviolence.org/

Teens Experiencing Abusive Relationships (TEAR): http://www.teensagainstabuse.org/index.php?q=home

Teen Relationships: http://teenrelationships.org/

Teens, Technology and Romantic Relationships: http://www.pewinternet.org/2015/10/01/teens-technology-and-romantic-relationships/

Teen Voices: Dating in a Digital Age: http://www.pewinternet.org/online-romance/

Voices Against Violence: http://www.smoc.org/voices-against-violence.php

[Close] [Close All]

Internet Safety

Common Sense Media: https://www.commonsensemedia.org/

Computer Addiction Services: http://www.computeraddiction.com/

Connect Safely: http://www.connectsafely.org/

Family Online Safety Institute: https://www.fosi.org/

FBI Parent Guide to Internet Safety: https://www.fbi.gov/stats-services/publications/parent-guide/parent-guide

FBI Safety Tips for Kids: https://www.fbi.gov/fun-games/kids/kids-safety

iKeepSafe: http://ikeepsafe.org/

I Know Better… Do You?: http://inobtr.org/

National Center for Missing and Exploited Children: http://www.missingkids.com/Exploitation

National Crime Prevention Council: http://www.ncpc.org/topics/internet-safety

NetSmartz: http://www.netsmartz.org/Parents

NS Teens: http://www.nsteens.org/

PEW Research Center & Social Networking: http://www.pewinternet.org/topics/social-networking/

Project Safe Childhood: http://www.justice.gov/psc

Protect Yourself from Identity Crime: http://www.theiacp.org/idsafety/files_cms/PreventionSmallV2.pdf

Social Media: A Gateway for Child Predators: http://www.rawhide.org/blog/wellness/social-media-a-gateway-for-child-predators/ 

YouthSpark Online Safety: http://www.microsoft.com/about/corporatecitizenship/en-us/youthspark/youthsparkhub/programs/onlinesafety/

[Close] [Close All]

Juvenile Fire Setting

Juvenile Fire Setting Intervention: http://www.mass.gov/eopss/agencies/dfs/dfs2/osfm/pubed/juvenile-firesetting-intervention.html

Mandatory Report of Any School Fires: http://www.mass.gov/eopss/docs/dfs/osfm/forms/fp200.pdf

Juvenile Fire Setting: A Research Overview: https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/ojjdp/207606.pdf

SOS Fires Youth Intervention Programs: http://www.sosfires.com/

 

[Close] [Close All]

Juvenile Justice

Community Based Justice: http://middlesexda.com/prevention/Community-Based-Justice.php

Juvenile Diversion Program: http://middlesexda.com/prevention/Juvenile.php

Juvenile Justice and Rehabilitation in Massachusetts: http://www.mass.gov/portal/articles/juvenile-justice-and-rehabilitation-in-massachusetts.html

The Annie E. Casey Foundation: http://www.aecf.org/work/juvenile-justice/

The Burns Institute for Juvenile Justice Fairness & Equity: http://www.burnsinstitute.org/

Children’s Defense Fund: http://www.childrensdefense.org/

Coalition for Juvenile Justice: http://www.juvjustice.org/

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: http://www.ojjdp.gov/index.html

The Student Press Law Center: http://www.splc.org/

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: http://www.samhsa.gov/criminal-juvenile-justice

[Close] [Close All]

Mental Health

Center for Mental Health in Schools: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu/

Child and Adolescent Mental Health: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/child-and-adolescent-mental-health/index.shtml

Child Trends Adolescent Health Highlight: http://www.childtrends.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/Child_Trends-2013_01_01_AHH_MentalDisordersl.pdf

Families for Depression Awareness: http://familyaware.org/

NAHIC The Mental Health of Adolescents: A National Profile, 2008: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/downloads/MentalHealthBrief.pdf

Office of Adolescent Mental Health: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah/adolescent-health-topics/mental-health/

Screening for Mental Health, Inc.: https://mentalhealthscreening.org/

Teen Mental Health: http://teenmentalhealth.org/

[Close] [Close All]

Positive Youth Development

Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development: http://www.colorado.edu/cspv/blueprints/

Child Welfare Information Gateway: https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/youth/development/about/

Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning: http://www.casel.org/

Family & Youth Services Bureau: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/fysb/positive-youth-development

Foundations for Young Adult Success: https://ccsr.uchicago.edu/sites/default/files/publications/Wallace%20Report.pdf

Girls, Inc.: http://www.girlsinc.org/

Positive Behavioral Interventions & Supports: http://www.pbis.org/

Search Institute: Developmental Relationships: http://www.search-institute.org/downloadable/Dev-Relationships-Framework-Sept2014.pdf

Social Development Research Group: http://www.sdrg.org/

Youth.gov: http://youth.gov/youth-topics/positive-youth-development

[Close] [Close All]

Sexting

Social Host Liability

Campbell & Campbell: http://socialhostliability.org/

Mothers Against Drunk Driving Social Host Liability: http://www.madd.org/underage-drinking/the-power-of-parents/high-school-parents/social-host/

[Close] [Close All]

Spanish Language Resources

Suicide

Children’s Safety Network: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org/injury-topics/suicide-prevention

National Strategy for Suicide Prevention: Goals and Objectives for Action: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/reports/national-strategy-suicide-prevention/

SAMHSA Preventing Suicide: A Toolkit for High Schools: http://store.samhsa.gov/product/Preventing-Suicide-A-Toolkit-for-High-Schools/SMA12-4669

Suicide: Postvention Strategies for School Personnel: http://www.nasponline.org/resources/intonline/HCHS2_weekley.pdf

Suicide Prevention Resource Center: http://training.sprc.org/

QPR Institute: http://www.qprinstitute.com/

[Close] [Close All]

Trauma & Emergency Management

Be Ready for Emergencies and Disasters: http://www.mass.gov/portal/health-safety/be-ready-for-emergencies-and-disasters.html

MA Department of Elementary & Secondary Education Trauma Sensitive Schools: http://www.doe.mass.edu/tss/schools.html

Riverside Trauma Center: http://riversidetraumacenter.org/

Federal Emergency Management Agency: http://www.fema.gov/

The National Center for Victims of Crime: http://www.victimsofcrime.org/home

Readiness and Emergency Management for Schools: http://rems.ed.gov/

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: http://www.samhsa.gov/nctic/trauma-interventions

[Close] [Close All]

Violence in Schools & Communities

Massachusetts Task Force Report on School Safety and Security: http://www.mass.gov/edu/docs/eoe/school-safety-security/school-safety-report.pdf

Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development: http://www.colorado.edu/cspv/blueprints/

Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence: http://www.colorado.edu/cspv/

Children’s Safety Network: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org/injury-topics/youth-violence-prevention

Combatting Violence… An Action Plan: http://www.sadd.org/campaign/violence.htm

Department of Homeland Security: http://www.dhs.gov/preventing-terrorism

The Equity Project at Indiana University: http://www.indiana.edu/~equity/index.php

Institute on Violence and Destructive Behavior: http://pages.uoregon.edu/ivdb/index.html

National Crime Prevention Council: http://www.ncpc.org/programs/teens-crime-and-the-community

NCPC A Dozen Things Parents Can do to Stop School Violence: http://www.ncpc.org/resources/files/pdf/school-safety/12parents.pdf

NCPC A Dozen Things Students Can do to Stop School Violence: http://www.ncpc.org/resources/files/pdf/school-safety/12students.pdf

NCPC School Safety and Security Toolkit: http://www.ncpc.org/resources/files/pdf/school-safety/bsstoolkit_complete.pdf

Project Safe Neighborhood: https://www.bja.gov/programdetails.aspx?program_id=74

School Violence- Weapons, Crime & Bullying: http://www.abusivekids.com/

Teens Against Gang Violence: http://www.tagv.org/

Threat Assessment in Schools: http://www.secretservice.gov/ntac/ssi_guide.pdf

United  Teen Equality Center: https://www.utec-lowell.org/

Youth Violence: A Report from the Surgeon General: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK44294/

[Close] [Close All]